The Treasury

New Zealand Superannuation and Retirement Income Act 2001: Amendment to Section 59 Information Release

February 2023

This document has been proactively released by **Minister of Finance (Hon Grant Robertson)** on the Treasury website at

https://www.treasury.govt.nz/publications/information-release/finance-portfolio-cabinet-material-2023

Cabinet Document Details

Title: Cabinet Minute: DEV-21-MIN-0233: New Zealand Superannuation and Retirement Income

Act 2001: Amendment to Section 59

Date: 17 November 2021

Creator: Cabinet Office

Information Withheld

No information has been withheld.

Copyright and Licensing

Cabinet material and advice to Ministers from the Treasury and other public service departments are © Crown copyright but are licensed for re-use under Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International (CC BY 4.0) [https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/].

For material created by other parties, copyright is held by them and they must be consulted on the licensing terms that they apply to their material.

Accessibility

The Treasury can provide an alternate HTML version of this material if requested. Please cite this document's title or PDF file name when you email a request to information@treasury.govt.nz.



Cabinet Economic Development Committee

Minute of Decision

This document contains information for the New Zealand Cabinet. It must be treated in confidence and handled in accordance with any security classification, or other endorsement. The information can only be released, including under the Official Information Act 1982, by persons with the appropriate authority.

New Zealand Superannuation and Retirement Income Act 2001: Amendment to Section 59

Portfolio Finance

On 17 November 2021, the Cabinet Economic Development Committee:

- noted that the Guardians of New Zealand Superannuation (the Guardians) has requested a review of section 59 of the New Zealand Superannuation and Retirement Income Act 2001 (the NZSRI Act), which prohibits the New Zealand Superannuation Fund (NZSF) from holding a controlling interest in entities;
- 2 **noted** that removal of the control restriction would provide strategic benefits to the NZSF, the Crown and the New Zealand economy through domestic investment opportunities and the potential for increased risk-adjusted returns for the NZSF;
- noted that by moving from minority to majority ownership, the Minister of Finance considers there is a heightened reputational risk for adverse business outcomes, but the Guardians have been independently reviewed to world class governance standards;
- 4 **noted** that the Minister of Finance considers the potential strategic benefits of relaxing the control restriction outweigh the original policy intent, and that the removal of the control restriction is essentially a transfer of investment accountability from policy makers to the Board;
- agreed to amend the NZSRI Act to provide for the relaxation of the control restriction;
- agreed that the Guardians be required to establish and maintain a new Statement of Investment Policies, Standards and Procedures for the selection and monitoring of controlling interests in entities;

Legislative implications

- agreed to the inclusion of the New Zealand Superannuation and Retirement Income Amendment Bill on the 2021 Legislation Programme, with a category 5 priority (drafting instructions to be issued to the Parliamentary Counsel Office in 2021);
- 8 **noted** that a place on the 2022 Legislation Programme will be sought at the appropriate time;
- 9 **invited** the Minister of Finance to issue drafting instructions to the Parliamentary Counsel Office to give effect to the above paragraphs;

authorised the Minister of Finance to make decisions on any further policy matters that arise as part of the implementation of the above paragraphs, provided those decisions are consistent with the recommendations in the paper under DEV-21-SUB-0233.

Janine Harvey Committee Secretary

Present:

Hon Grant Robertson (Chair)

Hon Dr Megan Woods

Hon David Parker

Hon Poto Williams

Hon Stuart Nash

Hon Kris Faafoi

Hon Willie Jackson

Hon Michael Wood

Hon Kiri Allan

Hon Dr David Clark

Hon Meka Whaitiri

Hon Phil Twyford

Rino Tirikatene MP Dr Deborah Russell MP

Officials present from:

Office of the Prime Minister Officials Committee for DEV