Back to top anchor
Media statement

G20 Finance Ministers and Central Bank Governors Meeting:  Communiqué

Issue date: 
Sunday, 21 September 2014
Corporate author: 
View point: 

The G20 Finance Ministers and Central Bank Governors Meeting, held in Cairns over the last day and a half, has issued a communiqué summarizing its deliberations on the global economy, strategies for growth, investment financial regulation and taxation issues. 

New Zealand, an invited guest at G20 meetings in 2014, was represented by Secretary to the Treasury, Gabriel Makhlouf.

The communiqué is available at this site:

Note to reporters

The G20 comprises the world’s largest advanced and emerging economies, representing about two-thirds of the world’s population, 85 per cent of global gross domestic product and over 75 per cent of global trade.

Members are: Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, France, Germany, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Republic of Korea, Mexico, Russia, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, Turkey, the United Kingdom, the United States and the European Union.

Each year the G20 president invites several guest countries to participate in G20 events and contribute to the agenda to ensure the G20 reflects a broad range of international opinion.  Australia, as host of the G20 this year, has invited New Zealand to attend as a guest alongside the G20 members.

Media contact:

Last updated: 
Thursday, 18 June 2015