Back to top anchor
Media statement

Cathy Quinn and Mark Verbiest Join Treasury Board

Issue date: 
Friday, 14 October 2016
Corporate author: 
View point: 

Secretary to the Treasury Gabriel Makhlouf has appointed Ms Cathy Quinn and Mr Mark Verbiest as new non-executive directors on the Treasury’s Board for a 3-year term starting on 1 November. Current Board member Dr Susan Macken has also been re-appointed for a term ending on 1 September 2017.

“I am pleased to welcome Cathy Quinn and Mark Verbiest to the Treasury Board. Both are currently members of our Commercial Operations Advisory Board and we value greatly the acumen and insights they contribute. They will further strengthen our Board by each bringing considerable governance and corporate experience,” says Mr Makhlouf.

The Treasury Board was established in 2010.  It is an advisory body that supports the Treasury's Chief Executive and Executive Leadership Team in ensuring that its organisational strategy, capability and performance make the best possible contribution to the achievement of its goals.

Mr Makhlouf also expressed his thanks to former Board member Ms Joan Withers, whose term finished on 22 September.

“Joan Withers was a member of the Board since its inception. Her free and frank advice and her astute contributions to Board discussions were well appreciated, and I am grateful for her counsel over the past six years,” says Mr Makhlouf.

Members of the Treasury Board from 1 November are:

  • Gabriel Makhlouf (Chief Executive)
  • Whaimutu Dewes (non-executive director)
  • John Fraser (non-executive director)
  • Professor Harlene Hayne (non-executive director)
  • Susan Macken (non-executive director)
  • Sir Ralph Norris (non-executive director)
  • Cathy Quinn (non-executive director)
  • Fiona Ross (Chief Operating Officer)
  • Mark Verbiest (non-executive director)

Biographical details for Cathy Quinn

Cathy Quinn is the Chair of Minter Ellison Rudd Watts and a corporate and commercial lawyer. In addition to her role as a member of the Commercial Operations Advisory Board of the New Zealand Treasury, she was a member of the Securities Commission for nine years and the government’s Capital Markets Development Taskforce. Cathy is a member of the Executive Board of the NZ China Council. She has also advised numerous boards on governance issues and provided governance training for the director community. Cathy Quinn has been recognised as winner of Euromoney's Women in Business Law Awards in Australasia in respect of Mergers and Acquisitions and Private Equity in August 2013, as well as being named New Zealand’s Veuve Clicquot Business Woman Award Winner in 2010. Cathy was made an officer of the Order of Merit in the Queen's Birthday honours list in 2016.

Biographical details for Mark Verbiest

Mark Verbiest has an extensive background working in the telecommunications and legal sectors. He serves on the boards of several major companies and organisations, including: Spark New Zealand (Chairman), Transpower New Zealand Limited (Chairman), ANZ Bank New Zealand Limited (Director), Freightways Limited (Director), Willis Bond Capital Partners Limited and Willis Bond General Partner Limited (Chairman), and the Commercial Operations Advisory Board of the New Zealand Treasury (Member). He is also a former board member of the Financial Markets Authority.



Bryan McDaniel | Principal Communications Advisor
Tel: +64 4 917 6268 or 021 817 207
Email: [email protected]
Last updated: 
Tuesday, 18 October 2016