Back to top anchor

When is a two-stage BBC process required?

As set out in Cabinet Office Circular CO (19) 6: Investment management and asset performance in the state service, for Government departments or Crown entities:

“for all capital expenditure, lease and asset disposal proposals that require Cabinet approval, this two-stage approval process must be followed unless otherwise agreed with The Treasury or monitoring agency.”

Stage 1:  Based on the Programme (or Indicative) Business Case; decision-makers consider and approve:

  • recommendations for a preferred way forward (short-list options)
  • the project to proceed with more detailed assessment of the short-list options,
  • the project to engage with market suppliers through a Request for Information (RFI).

Stage 2:  Based on the Detailed Business Case; decision-makers consider recommendations to develop and finalise the arrangements for the successful implementation of the preferred option, including proceeding to formal market engagement through a Request for Proposal (RFP) or Request for Tender (RFT) process.'

Useful links

< Back to BBC Pathways navigation diagram

Last updated: 
Monday, 13 January 2020