Reserve Bank of New Zealand

Statutory corporation

The Reserve Bank is New Zealand’s central bank.  Its functions are:

  • to act as the central bank for New Zealand, including by:
    • formulating (through the Monetary Policy Committee) and implementing monetary policy
    • managing foreign reserves and dealing in foreign exchange
    • issuing and managing bank notes and coins
    • monitoring the needs of the public for banknotes and coins
    • providing liquidity facilities to manage liquidity in the financial system and to protect or promote financial system stability
    • providing settlement accounts
    • operating or participating in payments and settlements systems
    • liaising and cooperating with other central banks and relevant international institutions
    • providing or facilitating the provision of information to the public that is relevant to the Bank’s objectives
  • to monitor the financial system
  • to act as a prudential regulator and supervisor under prudential legislation
  • to perform and exercise the functions and powers under the AML Act
  • to cooperate with other law enforcement and regulatory agencies, including Australian financial authorities.

For further information:

The Reserve Bank's Institutional Regime
New Zealand's central bank - Reserve Bank of New Zealand

Key Information

Entity FormStatutory corporation
Head OfficeWellington
Primary LegislationReserve Bank of New Zealand Act 2021

Board of Directors

Person Role Term
Mr Adrian Orr Governor and Member -
Professor Neil Quigley Chair -
Mr Rodger Finlay Deputy Chair -
Mr Jeremy Banks Member -
Professor Rawinia Higgins Member -
Mrs Susan Paterson Member -
Mr Byron Pepper Member -

Key documents