The Treasury

Global Navigation

Personal tools
 

Endorsed BBC Expert Practitioner and Reviewer Pilot

Page updated 12 Sep 2017

In 2014, we launched an endorsed expert approach to provide easy access to the expert practitioners and reviewers. The key purposes of the expert roles are to:

Expert practitioner

Expert reviewer

  • Assist organisations with the scoping, planning and production of the business case at key stages.
  • To act as an adviser to the management team on the application of the BBC processes, including technical issues associated with the supporting methodology and the application of investment tools and techniques.
  • To act as a facilitator in supporting workshops whilst ensuring the prescribed products are completed to the required standard.
  • To challenge workshop attendees whilst permitting views to be expressed and a way forward to emerge.
  • Assist organisations with the quality assurance of their business cases.
  • To provide independent and impartial confirmation to the management team and/or decision maker that the BBC processes, tools and techniques have been applied to the required standard and that the resulting deliverables are fit-for-purpose, prior to approval.
  • To maintain the standards of the BBC as set out in the BBC guidance, supporting templates, Cost Benefit Analysis Primer and associated sources.

How to become an Expert Practitioner and/or Reviewer

From 2014 to mid 2016 Public Sector Organisations could nominate potential experts. Once nominated, the candidate would email betterbusinesscases@treasury.govt.nz with an application form, two business cases and four 360 survey's for submission to a member of the International BBC Standards Board who would interview and assess each candidate.

In July 2016 we placed a hold on processing these applications as the endorsed expert pilot is currently being evaluated in the content of the wider work programme of the Investment Management and Asset Performance Team at the Treasury.

The Board has to date endorsed the following experts:

Name Expert Contact Details
Ben Gill Reviewer Deloitte LLP (UK)
Email: bsgill@deloitte.co.uk

Carol Serra

Reviewer

Waikato District Health Board
Email: carol.serra@waikatodhb.health.nz
Cell: 021-846383

Carl Bakker

Reviewer

Acuo Limited
Email: carl@acuo.co.nz
Cell: 021 977 702

David Stephen

Practitioner

Stephen Consulting
Email: david@stephenconsulting.co.nz
Cell: 027-634 2036

Fraser Liggett

Practitioner

Paddock Bay Advisory Limited
Email: fraser@paddockbay.co.nz
Cell: 021-835850

Grant Avery Reviewer Outcome Insights
Email: grant.avery@outcomeinsights.com
Cell: 021466730
Haydn Read Practitioner and Reviewer Auckland Council
Email:Haydn.Read@aucklandcouncil.govt.nz
Cell: 0212479738

Jason Webber

Practitioner and Reviewer

PwC
Email: jason.m.webber@nz.pwc.com
Work: 04-4627174

Jo Jones

Reviewer

IQA New Zealand Limited (IQANZ)
Email: jjones@iqanz.com
Cell: 021 398 533

Joe Meech

Practitioner and Reviewer

Caravaggio Consulting Ltd
Email: joe.meech@gmail.com
Cell: 021-0326794

Karl Arndt

Reviewer

KPMG
Email: karndt@kpmg.co.nz
Cell: 027-6527638

Kerry Hollingsworth

Reviewer

The Treasury
Email: kerry.hollingsworth@treasury.govt.nz
Work: 04-4722733

Lewis Weatherall

Practitioner and Reviewer

Business Case Consulting Limited
Email: lewis@weatherall.co.nz
Cell: 027-4409706

Linda Meade

Practitioner

Deloitte
Email: lmeade@deloitte.co.nz
Work: 04-4703788 Cell: 021-773873

Michael Cairns

Reviewer

Auckland City Council
Email: michael.cairns@aucklandcouncil.govt.nz

Mike Ryan Reviewer Inland Revenue
Email: Mike.Ryan@ird.govt.nz

Paul Froggatt

Practitioner and Reviewer

Ministry of Defence
Email: Paul.Froggatt@defence.govt.nz
Work: 04-4960654 Cell: 027-4462713

Peter Bonniface

Practitioner

BRP Consulting
Email: peter@brpconsult.co.nz
Cell: 027-4490091

Peter Hanning

Practitioner

Peter Hanning Consulting Limited
Email: peter@hanning.net.nz
Cell: 021-777140

Stephen Davies-Howard

Practitioner and Reviewer

Davies Howard Group Ltd
Email: stephen@davies-howard.co.nz
Work: 04-3884072 Cell: 021-928629

Stephen Simes Reviewer Email: stephen_simes@hotmail.com
Cell: 027-7106996

Sylvia Meakin

Practitioner

Hunter Group Ltd
Email: sylvia.meakin@huntergroup.co.nz
Cell: 021-2606773

If anyone is interested in finding out more, please email the BBC team at betterbusinesscases@treasury.govt.nz

Page top