The Treasury

Global Navigation

Personal tools

State-Owned Enterprises

Page updated 21 Sep 2015

State-owned enterprises (SOEs) are Crown-owned companies that operate as commercial businesses. The principal objective of every SOE is to operate as a successful business and, to this end, to be as profitable and efficient as comparable businesses that are not owned by the Crown. SOEs are also required to be good employers and to exhibit a sense of social responsibility.

SOEs are subject to the State-Owned Enterprises Act 1986, are registered as companies, and are bound by the provisions of the Companies Act 1993

A list of SOEs and information on the Crown’s financial interest in each SOE is available in the Financial Statements of the Government of New Zealand for the year ended 30 June 2014 in the section: Information on SOEs and Crown Entities

The one exception to this framework is the New Zealand Railways Corporation [KiwiRail]. KiwiRail is a statutory corporation established by its own legislation, the New Zealand Railways Corporation Act 1981. Although KiwiRail is an SOE and is therefore subject to the State-Owned Enterprises Act 1986, it is not a company under the Companies Act.

Information on individual SOEs is located at Portfolio of Entities - SOEs.

Related Information on the Treasury Web Site

Page top