The Treasury

Global Navigation

Personal tools

New Zealand Lotteries Commission

Page updated 9 Aug 2017

The New Zealand Lotteries Commission (Lotto NZ) activities are authorised and controlled through the Gambling Act 2003. This gives Lotteries three statutory functions to promote, organise and conduct lotteries, to make rules regulating the conduct of those lotteries, and to advise the Minister of Internal Affairs on matters relating to lotteries. Lotteries' profits are transferred to the New Zealand Lottery Grants Board, which distributes them to sporting and cultural agencies and other community recipients.

Check the New Zealand Lotteries Commission website for the latest financial information.

Key Documents

Key Company Information

Entity Form Statutory Crown entity
Established 1987
Head Office Wellington
Primary Legislation Gambling Act 2003; Crown Entities Act 2004

Board of Directors

Chairperson: Ms Judith (Judy) Kirk (May 2009 - Apr 2017)
Deputy Chairperson: Mr Tony Mossman (May 2011 - Apr 2017)
Page top