The Treasury

Global Navigation

Personal tools

You are here: Home > State Sector > Crown Financial Institutions


Crown Financial Institutions

Page updated 15 Aug 2014

Overview of information about Crown Financial Institutions (CFIs) on the Treasury web site and the Treasury's role in monitoring their performance.

Crown Financial Institutions (CFIs) are Crown entities that have specific responsibilities relating to the management and investment of significant Crown financial assets. 

The Commercial Operations group within the Treasury monitors the following entities:

Treasury's Role

The Treasury monitors the performance and governance of the CFIs, and provides advice to the Minister of Finance who is the Minister responsible for the CFIs.

Quarterly Monitoring Reports

The Treasury periodically releases quarterly monitoring reports it prepares on the performance of five CFIs: New Zealand Superannuation Fund (NZSF), Accident Compensation Corporation (ACC), Earthquake Commission (EQC), Government Superannuation Fund (GSF) and National Provident Fund (NPF).


Reports and other material from reviews of the Crown entities that manage Crown financial assets:

Unclaimed Money

Unclaimed money is money held by a person or organisation, such as a solicitor or a bank, where the owner of that money cannot be found.  If you would like more information about sources of unclaimed money in New Zealand please refer to the Unclaimed Money page in the Services section of this web site.

Page top