The Treasury

Global Navigation

Personal tools


Annual Report of the Treasury for the Year Ended 30 June 2014

External Advice on Governance and Performance

Treasury Board

The Treasury Board is an advisory board that supports the Secretary to the Treasury to meet the Treasury's strategic goals and ambitions. The Board does this by testing key strategic decisions, offering external expertise and perspectives and providing a strong advisory function.

The Board is not required by statute and is an innovation in the public sector. Its role and operating practice have evolved over time.

The Board's principal purpose is to hold the Chief Executive to account in an advisory capacity. The statutory responsibilities and accountabilities of the Chief Executive and the State Services Commissioner remain unchanged. The Board:

  • tests high-level strategy set by the executive
  • advises on strategy execution
  • links the Treasury with external expertise, and
  • provides an independent perspective on any area raised by the Chief Executive.

The Board aims to replicate the discipline provided by a private sector governance board as far as possible within the public sector management system, providing additional challenge, accountability and external expertise to the executive.

Non-executive Board Members

The Treasury Board is currently made up of seven non-executive members, the Chief Executive and Deputy Chief Executive. Current non-executive members of the Board are listed below:

Mr Paul Baines

Mr Paul Baines has a significant background in financial and strategic management. He sits on the boards of the New Zealand Institute of Economic Research, the Todd Corporation and is Chair of the Gillies McIndoe Research Institute. He is a former Chair of Barnardos and has served on the boards of Fletcher Building, the Reserve Bank of New Zealand and Telecom New Zealand.

Mr Whaimutu Dewes

Mr Whaimutu Dewes has a broad range of experience in private and public sector management and governance. He is currently the Chairman of Aotearoa Fisheries, Ngāti Porou Seafoods and Ngāti Porou Forestry and a director on the boards of Contact Energy, HNZC and Ngāti Porou Holding Company. He is of Ngāti Porou and Ngāti Rangitihi descent.

Professor Harlene Hayne

Professor Harlene Hayne is Vice-Chancellor of the University of Otago, where she has helped to lead the commercialisation of the university's intellectual property and built strong research links with the private sector. Her current Fellowships include the Royal Society of New Zealand and the American Psychological Society, and she has served on the Royal Society's Academy Council, the Marsden Fund Council and the New Zealand National Science Panel. She is Co-Chair of the Office of the Prime Minister's Science Advisory Committee Working Party on Reducing Social and Psychological Morbidity during Adolescence. Professor Hayne was made an Officer of the New Zealand Order of Merit in 2009 for her services to scientific and medical research.

Dr Susan Macken

Dr Susan Macken is an experienced company director and consultant. She is a director of the Bank of New Zealand, Fertility Associates and Tamaki Redevelopment Company. She is Chair of Crown research institute Environmental Science and Research. Previous directorships have included Southern Cross Healthcare, the NZ Racing Industry Board and the NZ Trade Development Board. She has worked for the World Bank as an economist.

Sir Ralph Norris

Sir Ralph Norris serves on the boards of Fonterra Co-operative Group, Fonterra Shareholder Fund, Fletcher Building and Origin Energy. He is a member of the Council of the University of Auckland and a Fellow of the New Zealand Institute of Management and the New Zealand Computer Society. His 40-year career in banking included roles as Chief Executive of the Commonwealth Bank of Australia and ASB Bank, and he is also the former Chief Executive of Air New Zealand. Sir Ralph was formerly Chairman of the New Zealand Bankers' Association, Australian Bankers' Association and the New Zealand Business Roundtable, and was previously a Director of the Business Council of Australia. Sir Ralph was made a Knight Companion of the New Zealand Order of Merit in 2009, and in 2013 was conferred by the University of NSW with an Honorary Doctorate in Business.

Dr Martin Parkinson PSM

Dr Martin Parkinson was appointed as Australia's Secretary to the Treasury in March 2011. As Secretary, he is a member of the Board of the Reserve Bank of Australia, Chair of the Advisory Board of the Australian Office of Financial Management and a member of the Council of Financial Regulators and the Prime Minister's Business Advisory Council. He holds a PhD from Princeton University, a MEc from the Australian National University and a BEc (Hons) from the University of Adelaide. He was awarded the Public Service Medal in 2008.

Ms Joan Withers

Ms Joan Withers is a full-time company director with significant senior executive and corporate governance experience. She is Chair of Mighty River Power Ltd, Deputy Chair of Television New Zealand and an independent director of ANZ Bank New Zealand. She was previously Chief Executive of Fairfax Media in New Zealand and of the Radio Network. Ms Withers’ not-for-profit involvement is through trusteeships of The Tindall Foundation and the Louise Perkins Foundation (Sweet Louise) and through her chairmanship of a steering group which has developed a pipeline for Māori and Pacific students at three South Auckland high schools through tertiary study into employment at Counties Manukau District Health Board.

Note: Positions are as at date of publication.

Page top