The Treasury

Global Navigation

Personal tools


Annual Report of the Treasury for the Year Ended 30 June 2012

Monitoring of Crown Agencies

The Treasury's Crown Ownership Monitoring Unit has monitoring responsibility for the following:

Crown financial institutions:

  • Accident Compensation Corporation (ACC) (Investments)
  • Earthquake Commission (EQC)
  • Government Superannuation Fund (GSF)
  • National Provident Fund (NPF)
  • New Zealand Superannuation Fund (NZSF)

State-Owned Enterprises:

  • Airways Corporation of New Zealand Ltd (Airways)
  • Animal Control Products Ltd (ACP)
  • AsureQuality Ltd (AsureQ­­uality)
  • Electricity Corporation of New Zealand Ltd (ECNZ) (the residual company)
  • Genesis Power Ltd (Genesis)
  • Kordia Group Ltd (Kordia)
  • Landcorp Farming Ltd (Landcorp)
  • Learning Media Ltd (LML)
  • Meridian Energy Ltd (Meridian)
  • Meteorological Service of New Zealand Ltd (MetService)
  • Mighty River Power Ltd (Mighty River Power)
  • New Zealand Post Ltd (NZ Post)
  • New Zealand Railways Corporation (KiwiRail Group)
  • Quotable Value Ltd (Quotable Value)
  • Solid Energy New Zealand Ltd (Solid Energy)
  • Timberlands West Coast Ltd (Timberlands)
  • Transpower New Zealand Ltd (Transpower)

Other Crown companies:

  • Crown Asset Management Ltd (CAML)
  • Crown Fibre Holdings Ltd (CFH)
  • Health Benefits Ltd (HBL)
  • New Zealand Venture Investment Fund Ltd (NZVIF)
  • Radio New Zealand Ltd (RNZ)
  • Research and Education Advanced Network
    New Zealand Ltd (REANNZ)
  • Southern Response Earthquake Services Ltd (SRESL)
  • Television New Zealand Ltd (TVNZ)

Crown research institutes: (from 1 February 2011 joint responsibility with Ministry of Science & Innovation)

  • AgResearch Ltd (AgResearch)
  • Industrial Research Ltd (IRL)
  • Institute of Environmental Science & Research Ltd (ESR)
  • Institute of Geological & Nuclear Sciences Ltd (GNS Science)
  • Landcare Research New Zealand Ltd (Landcare Research)
  • National Institute of Water & Atmospheric Research Ltd (NIWA)
  • New Zealand Forest Research Institute Ltd (Scion)
  • The New Zealand Institute for Plant & Food Research Ltd (Plant & Food Research)


  • Air New Zealand Ltd
  • Christchurch International Airport Ltd (CIAL)
  • Dunedin International Airport Ltd (DIAL)
  • Hawkes Bay Airport Ltd (HBAL)
  • Invercargill Airport Ltd (IAL)
  • New Zealand Lotteries Commission (Lotteries)
  • Pacific Forum Line Ltd (PFL)
  • Public Trust (Public Trust)
  • Rugby NZ (2011) Ltd

The Treasury administers the board appointment processes for all of the above companies/entities, except ACC and PFL. Also, in addition, COMU administers the board appointment processes for the following entities: 2025 Taskforce, Crown Forestry Rental Trust, Government Superannuation Appeals Board, National Infrastructure Advisory Board, Nominating Committee for the Guardians of New Zealand Superannuation Fund and the Reserve Bank. The Treasury also serves the secretariat function for the Government Superannuation Appeals Board.

Page top