The Treasury

Global Navigation

Personal tools


Annual Report of the Treasury for the Year Ended 30 June 2012

Executive Leadership Team

Gabriel Makhlouf - Secretary to the Treasury, Chief Executive

Gabriel (Gabs) Makhlouf joined the organisation from the United Kingdom in March 2010, where he held positions at HM Revenue & Customs, HM Treasury and Inland Revenue. His role is primarily focused on providing leadership for the organisation and ensuring that the Treasury remains focused on achieving its vision. Mr Makhlouf has chaired the world's main tax-ruling body at the OECD and was Principal Private Secretary to the UK Chancellor of the Exchequer, Gordon Brown. He has a BA degree in Economics and an MSc in Industrial Relations, and is fluent in French and Greek.

Vicky Robertson - Deputy Chief Executive

Vicky Robertson was appointed Deputy Chief Executive in August 2012. She had previously been Deputy Secretary Growth and Public Services. Her role is to support the Chief Executive in driving the Treasury to achieve its vision, and particularly to lead the Treasury's Better Public Services work and the National Infrastructure Unit. During her 14-year Treasury career, Ms Robertson has worked in roles ranging from policy development on KiwiSaver legislation through to heading an interdepartmental group that reviewed New Zealand's climate change policies. Ms Robertson has a law degree and played hockey at NZ Representative level as a member of the Black Sticks in 1991 and 1993/94.

Girol Karacaoglu - Chief Economist. Deputy Secretary, Macroeconomic, International and Economic Research

Girol Karacaoglu joined the Treasury on 1 March 2012, after being Chief Executive of The Co-operative Bank (formerly PSIS) for nine years. Dr Karacaoglu leads the Treasury's economic research, analysis and forecasting work, and is also responsible for the teams that work on achieving a stable and sustainable macroeconomic environment. Dr Karacaoglu has previously been General Manager at Westpac NZ, Chief Economist at the National Bank of New Zealand and lecturer in economics at Victoria University of Wellington. He has a PhD in Economics and an MBA, and is fluent in French and Turkish.

Richard Forgan - Deputy Secretary, Budget and Public Services

Richard Forgan came to the Treasury in 2009, after spending eight years with PricewaterhouseCoopers' consulting practice. His teams oversee the Government's annual Budget and help Ministers understand how the State sector can improve public services such as healthcare, justice and security. He leads the Treasury's work on developing a more effective and efficient State sector. Mr Forgan began his career in the City of London in corporate and investment banking. He has an MA in Politics and Economics from Edinburgh University.

Peter Martin - Deputy Secretary, Growth and Public Services

Peter Martin joined the Treasury in 1997 as Manager, International Economics. He had previously worked in SSC and in the UK Civil Service. He has held a number of leadership roles in the Treasury, most recently as Director Tax Strategy. Mr Martin was economic advisor in the Prime Minister's department between 2001 and 2004. His teams work with a range of agencies on policies to support the Government's economic growth and productivity objectives, including tax, regulation, natural resource management, education, welfare and infrastructure. He has a BSc from St Andrews University.

John Crawford - Deputy Secretary, Commercial Transactions

John Crawford joined the Treasury in February 2010 from DPMC. He leads the Treasury's work on significant commercial transaction for the Crown, such as implementing the Mixed Ownership Model and supporting AMI Insurance after the Canterbury earthquakes. Mr Crawford's career has included roles at NZ Trade and Enterprise as Regional Director Auspac, at Investment NZ and at Deutsche Bank AG. He has undergraduate degrees in Science and Engineering and an MBA from Auckland University.

Catherine Atkins - Deputy Secretary, Strategy, Change and Performance

Catherine Atkins has held several management roles in the Treasury over the past 10 years and has previously worked at the Department of Labour and the Ministry of Commerce. She leads the work to become a high-performing Treasury, keeping the organisation focused on its priorities and fit for purpose. Ms Atkins has a Master's degree in Economics.

Fergus Welsh - Deputy Secretary, Chief Financial Officer/Chief Accountant

Fergus Welsh joined the Treasury from MED in 2010. As Chief Accountant he leads development and implementation of strategies for improving financial resource management across government, making sure that taxpayers' resources are used appropriately. Mr Welsh has a Bachelor of Commerce degree from Otago University and is a member of the New Zealand Institute of Chartered Accountants.

Andrew Turner - Deputy Secretary, Crown Ownership Monitoring Unit

Andrew Turner took the role as Deputy Secretary of COMU in August 2011. His teams monitor the performance of more than 100 businesses and entities that make profits for the Crown or deliver services the private sector isn't willing to provide. Mr Turner previously worked as Head of Portfolio Management at NZDMO. He has a Bachelor of Commerce and Administration degree from Victoria University and is a member of the New Zealand Institute of Chartered Accountants.

Brendon Doyle - Deputy Secretary, Financial Operations

Brendon Doyle joined the Treasury in March 2012 from Westpac in Australia, where he was Managing Director of its Global Capital Markets. He oversees the teams that borrow and make debt repayments for the Crown, and issue guarantees to support export businesses. His teams bridge the gap between what the Government receives in taxes and fees and what it spends on providing public services. Mr Doyle has a Bachelor degree in Business Studies.

Note: Positions are as at date of publication.

Page top