The Treasury

Global Navigation

Personal tools


Pre-election Economic and Fiscal Update 2017

Government Reporting Entity as at 7 August 2017

These Forecast Financial Statements are for the government reporting entity as specified in Part 3 of the Public Finance Act 1989. This comprises Ministers of the Crown and the following entities (classified in the three institutional components used for segmental reporting):

Core Crown Segment


  • Crown Law Office
  • Department of Conservation
  • Department of Corrections
  • Department of Internal Affairs
  • Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet
  • Education Review Office
  • Government Communications Security Bureau
  • Inland Revenue Department
  • Land Information New Zealand
  • Ministry for Culture and Heritage
  • Ministry for Pacific Peoples
  • Ministry for Primary Industries
  • Ministry for the Environment
  • Ministry for Vulnerable Children, Oranga Tamariki
  • Ministry for Women
  • Ministry of Business, Innovation, and Employment
  • Ministry of Defence
  • Ministry of Education
  • Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade
  • Ministry of Health
  • Ministry of Justice
  • Ministry of Māori Development
  • Ministry of Social Development
  • Ministry of Transport
  • New Zealand Customs Service
  • New Zealand Defence Force
  • New Zealand Police
  • New Zealand Security Intelligence Service
  • Office of the Clerk of the House of Representatives
  • Parliamentary Counsel Office
  • Parliamentary Service
  • Serious Fraud Office
  • State Services Commission
  • Statistics New Zealand
  • The Treasury

Offices of Parliament

  • Controller and Auditor-General
  • Office of the Ombudsman
  • Parliamentary Commissioner for the Environment


  • New Zealand Superannuation Fund
  • Reserve Bank of New Zealand

State-owned Enterprises Segment

State-owned Enterprises

  • Airways Corporation of New Zealand Limited
  • Animal Control Products Limited
  • AsureQuality Limited
  • Electricity Corporation of New Zealand Limited
  • KiwiRail Holdings Limited
  • Kordia Group Limited
  • Landcorp Farming Limited
  • Meteorological Service of New Zealand Limited
  • New Zealand Post Limited
  • New Zealand Railways Corporation
  • Quotable Value Limited
  • Solid Energy New Zealand Limited
  • Transpower New Zealand Limited

Mixed ownership model companies (Public Finance Act Schedule 5)

  • Genesis Energy Limited
  • Mercury NZ Limited
  • Meridian Energy Limited


  • Air New Zealand Limited

Crown entities Segment

Crown entities

  • Accident Compensation Corporation
  • Accreditation Council
  • Arts Council of New Zealand Toi Aotearoa
  • Broadcasting Commission
  • Broadcasting Standards Authority
  • Callaghan Innovation
  • Careers New Zealand
  • Children's Commissioner
  • Civil Aviation Authority of New Zealand
  • Commerce Commission
  • Crown Irrigation Investments Limited
  • Crown Research Institutes (7)
  • District Health Boards (20)
  • Drug Free Sport New Zealand
  • Earthquake Commission
  • Education New Zealand
  • Electoral Commission
  • Electricity Authority
  • Energy Efficiency and Conservation Authority
  • Environmental Protection Authority
  • External Reporting Board
  • Families Commission
  • Financial Markets Authority
  • Fire and Emergency New Zealand
  • Government Superannuation Fund Authority
  • Guardians of New Zealand Superannuation
  • Health and Disability Commissioner
  • Health Promotion Agency
  • Health Quality and Safety Commission
  • Health Research Council of New Zealand
  • Heritage New Zealand Pouhere Taonga
  • Housing New Zealand Corporation
  • Human Rights Commission
  • Independent Police Conduct Authority
  • Law Commission
  • Maritime New Zealand
  • Museum of New Zealand Te Papa Tongarewa Board
  • New Zealand Antarctic Institute
  • New Zealand Artificial Limb Service
  • New Zealand Blood Service
  • New Zealand Film Commission
  • New Zealand Lotteries Commission
  • New Zealand Productivity Commission
  • New Zealand Qualifications Authority
  • New Zealand Symphony Orchestra
  • New Zealand Tourism Board
  • New Zealand Trade and Enterprise
  • New Zealand Transport Agency
  • New Zealand Venture Investment Fund Limited
  • New Zealand Walking Access Commission
  • Office of Film and Literature Classification
  • Pharmaceutical Management Agency
  • Privacy Commissioner
  • Public Trust
  • Radio New Zealand Limited
  • Real Estate Agents Authority
  • Retirement Commissioner
  • School Boards of Trustees (2,487)
  • Social Workers Registration Board
  • Sport and Recreation New Zealand
  • Takeovers Panel
  • Te Reo Whakapuaki Irirangi (Māori Broadcasting Funding Agency)
  • Te Taura Whiri i te Reo Māori (Māori Language Commission)
  • Television New Zealand Limited
  • Tertiary Education Commission
  • Transport Accident Investigation Commission
  • WorkSafe New Zealand

Organisations listed in schedule 4 of the Public Finance Act 1989

  • Agricultural and Marketing Research and Development Trust
  • Asia New Zealand Foundation
  • Fish and Game Councils (12)
  • Game Animal Council
  • Leadership Development Centre Trust
  • Māori Trustee
  • National Pacific Radio Trust
  • New Zealand Fish and Game Council
  • New Zealand Game Bird Habitat Trust Board
  • New Zealand Government Property Corporation
  • New Zealand Lottery Grants Board
  • Ngāi Tahu Ancillary Claims Trust
  • Pacific Co-operation Foundation
  • Pacific Island Business Development Trust
  • Reserves Boards (22)
  • Te Ariki Trust

Non-listed companies in which the Crown is majority or sole shareholder (Public Finance Act Schedule 4A)

  • Crown Asset Management Limited
  • Crown Fibre Holdings Limited
  • Education Payroll Limited
  • Health Benefits Limited (ceased operating)
  • Ōtākaro Limited
  • Predator Free 2050 Limited
  • Research and Education Advanced Network New Zealand Limited
  • Southern Response Earthquake Services Limited
  • Tāmaki Redevelopment Company Limited
  • The Network for Learning Limited

Legal entities created by Treaty of Waitangi settlement Acts (Public Finance Act Schedule 6)

  • Te Urewera


  • Education Council of Aotearoa New Zealand
  • Regenerate Christchurch

Other entities

Crown entities

  • Tertiary Education Institutions (28)

Non-listed companies in which the Crown is majority or sole shareholder (Public Finance Act Schedule 4A)

  • City Rail Link Limited

These entities are not fully consolidated into the forecast financial statements of the government with only the Crown's interest in them being included.

Subsidiaries of SOEs, Crown entities and other government entities are consolidated by their parents and not listed separately in this table.

Page top