The Treasury

Global Navigation

Personal tools


Budget 2009 Home Page Budget Economic and Fiscal Update 2009

Government Reporting Entity as at 5 May 2009

These forecast financial statements are for the Government reporting entity as specified in section 26Q(4) of the Public Finance Act 1989. This comprises Ministers of the Crown and the following entities:

Core Crown segment    


Agriculture and Forestry

Archives New Zealand

Building and Housing



Crown Law Office

Culture and Heritage


Economic Development


Education Review Office



Foreign Affairs and Trade

Government Communications Security Bureau


Inland Revenue

Internal Affairs






Land Information New Zealand

Māori Development

National Library of New Zealand

New Zealand Customs Service

New Zealand Defence Force

New Zealand Food Safety Authority

New Zealand Police

New Zealand Security Intelligence Service

Office of the Clerk

Pacific Island Affairs

Parliamentary Counsel Office

Parliamentary Service

Prime Minister and Cabinet

Research, Science and Technology

Serious Fraud Office

Social Development

State Services Commission




Women's Affairs



State-owned enterprises

Airways Corporation of
New Zealand Limited

Animal Control Products Limited

AsureQuality Limited

Electricity Corporation of
New Zealand Limited

Genesis Power Limited

Kordia Group Limited

Landcorp Farming Limited

Learning Media Limited

Meridian Energy Limited

Meteorological Service of
New Zealand Limited

Mighty River Power Limited

New Zealand Post Limited

New Zealand Railways Corporation*

Quotable Value Limited

Solid Energy New Zealand Limited

Terralink Limited (in liquidation)

Timberlands West Coast Limited

Transpower New Zealand Limited



Air New Zealand Limited (included for disclosure purposes as if it were a SOE)



Government Superannuation Fund

New Zealand Superannuation


Reserve Bank of New Zealand


Offices of Parliament

Office of the Controller and Auditor-General

Office of the Ombudsmen

Parliamentary Commissioner for the Environment



* KiwiRail Holdings Limited was acquired by the Crown on 1 July 2008 and in turn was transferred to New Zealand Railways Corporation on 1 October 2008.

Crown entities  

Accident Compensation Corporation

Accounting Standards Review Board

Alcohol Advisory Council of New Zealand

Arts Council of New Zealand Toi Aotearoa

Broadcasting Commission

Broadcasting Standards Authority

Career Services

Charities Commission

Children's Commissioner

Civil Aviation Authority of New Zealand

Commerce Commission

Crown Health Financing Agency

Crown research institutes (9)

District health boards (21)

Drug Free Sport New Zealand

Earthquake Commission

Electoral Commission

Electricity Commission

Energy Efficiency and Conservation Authority

Environmental Risk Management Authority

Families Commission

Foundation for Research, Science and Technology

Government Superannuation Fund Authority

Guardians of New Zealand Superannuation

Health and Disability Commissioner

Health Research Council of New Zealand

Health Sponsorship Council

Housing New Zealand Corporation

Human Rights Commission

Independent Police Conduct Authority

Law Commission

Legal Services Agency

Maritime New Zealand

Mental Health Commission

Museum of New Zealand Te Papa Tongarewa Board

New Zealand Antarctic Institute

New Zealand Artificial Limb Board

New Zealand Blood Service

New Zealand Fast Forward Fund Limited

New Zealand Film Commission

New Zealand Fire Service Commission

New Zealand Historic Places Trust (Pouhere Taonga)

New Zealand Lotteries Commission

New Zealand Qualifications Authority

New Zealand Symphony Orchestra

New Zealand Teachers Council

New Zealand Tourism Board

New Zealand Trade and Enterprise

New Zealand Transport Agency

New Zealand Venture Investment Fund Limited

New Zealand Walking Access Commission

Office of Film and Literature Classification

Pharmaceutical Management Agency

Privacy Commissioner

Public Trust

Radio New Zealand Limited

Real Estate Agents Authority

Retirement Commissioner

School boards of trustees (2,484)

Securities Commission

Social Workers Registration Board

Sport and Recreation New Zealand

Standards Council

Takeovers Panel

Te Reo Whakapuaki Irirangi (Te Māngai Pāho)

Te Taura Whiri i te Reo Māori (Māori Language Commission)

Television New Zealand Limited

Tertiary Education Commission

Tertiary education institutions (31)

Testing Laboratory Registration Council

Transport Accident Investigation Commission


Crown entity subsidiaries are consolidated by their parents and are not listed separately in this table


Organisations named or described in Schedule 4 to the Public Finance Act 1989

Agriculture and Marketing Research and Development Trust

Asia New Zealand Foundation

Fish and game councils (12)

Leadership Development Centre Trust

National Pacific Radio Trust

New Zealand Fast Forward Limited

New Zealand Fish and Game Council

New Zealand Game Bird Habitat Trust Board

New Zealand Government Property Corporation

New Zealand Lottery Grants Board

Ngāi Tahu Ancillary Claims Trust

Pacific Co-operation Foundation

Pacific Island Business Development Trust

Research and Education Advanced Network New Zealand Limited

Reserves boards (24)

Road Safety Trust

Sentencing Council

Page top