The Treasury

Global Navigation

Personal tools

You are here: Home > About Treasury > Organisation Structure


The Treasury's Organisation Structure

Page updated 19 Sep 2017

Leadership Team

Gabriel Makhlouf – Secretary and Chief Executive Gabriel Makhlouf
Secretary and Chief Executive

Tim Ng – Chief Economic AdvisorTim Ng
Chief Economic Adviser


Bryan Chapple – Deputy Secretary Macroeconomics and Growth Bryan Chapple
Deputy Secretary, Macroeconomics & Growth

Fiona Ross –  Chief Operating Officer and Deputy Secretary Fiona Ross
Chief Operating Officer and Deputy Secretary,
Corporate & Shared Services

Jon Grayson – Acting Deputy Secretary – Financial & Commercial Operations Jon Grayson
Deputy Secretary, Financial & Commercial

Struan Little – Deputy Secretary, Budget & Public Services Struan Little
Deputy Secretary, Budget & Public Services

Organisation Chart

New Zealand Treasury Organisation Chart (80 KB)

Directors and Team Managers

Andrew Blazey – Director, Budget & Public Investment

  • Justice, Security & Government Services (Manager: Colin Hall)
  • Health (Manager: Carolyn Palmer)
  • Fiscal and State Sector Management (Manager: Angela Mellish)
    • Team Leader: Eamonn Whitham (Acting)
    • Team Leader: Kamlesh Patel 
    • Team Leader: Cara Palmer-Oldcorn (Acting)
  • Investment Asset Management Performance (Manager: Ben McBride)
    • Team Leader, IMAP: Stephen Goodman

Paul Helm – Head of Government Finance Profession and Chief Government Accountant
Office of the Government Accountant

  • Fiscal Reporting (Manager: Nicola Haslam)
    • Team Leader, Jayne Winfield
  • Strategic Performance Improvement (Manager: Sarah Hardy)
    • Team Leader, Megan Taylor

Grace Campbell-Macdonald – Director, Growth & Public Services

  • Business Growth & Innovation (Manager: Matt Gilbert)
    • Team Leader, Regulatory Quality: Helen McDonald
  • Economic Strategy & Productivity (Manager: Simon McLoughlin)
  • Natural Resources (Manager: Alastair Cameron (Acting))
  • Education & Skills (Manager: Diana Cook)
  • Labour Market, Immigration & Tertiary (Manager: Kristie Carter (Acting))
    • Team Leader, Welfare & Oranga Tamariki: Andrew Rutledge (Acting)

Sarah Vrede – Director, Financial Operations & Head of NZDMO

  • New Zealand Debt Management Office (NZDMO). See the NZDMO website.
  • Portfolio Management (Head: Murray Jones)
  • Accounting & Transactional Services (Head: Charles England)
  • Business Information (Head: Dan Clayton)
  • Risk Policy & Balance Sheet (Head: Andy Hagan)
  • New Zealand Export Credit Office (NZECO) (Manager: Chris Chapman) - See the NZECO website.

Chris White – Director, Commercial, Infrastructure & Housing

Commercial Operations

  • Commercial Advice (Manager: Angela Graham)
  • Governance & Performance (Manager: Chris Gregory)
    • Team Leader, Governance: Ngaire Best
  • Strategy & Policy (Manager: Craig Weise)

Infrastructure & Housing

  • National Infrastructure Unit (Manager: David Taylor) - See the National Infrastructure Unit website
  • Housing (Manager: Tom Hall)
    • Team Leader, Housing Affordability: Nick McNabb
    • Team Leader, Social Housing Policy: Bastiaan van der Scheer
  • Transactions Unit – Social Housing (Head: Stacey Wymer)

Tim Ng – Chief Economist

  • Analytics & Insights (Manager: Andrew Hunter)
  • Economic Capability (Deputy Chief Economic Adviser: Tony Burton)

James Beard – Director, Economic System

  • Macroeconomic & Fiscal Policy (Manager: Renee Philip)
  • Modelling & Research & Forecasting (Manager: Peter Gardiner)
  • Tax Strategy (Manager: Mark Vink)
  • Financial Markets & International (Manager: Dasha Leonova)
    • Team Leader, Financial Markets: Craig Fookes
    • Team Leader, International: Thomas Parry

Corporate & Shared Services

  • Office of the Executive & Communications. See Contact Us for contact details of media staff (Chief of Staff/Manager Engagement: Vicki Plater)
    • Team Leader, Office of the Executive: Gwen Rashbrooke
  • Legal, Ministerial Services, Facilities & Business Services (Manager and Treasury Solicitor: Jeremy Salmond)
    • Team Leader, Legal/Deputy Treasury Solicitor: Gina Butson (Acting)
    • Team Leader Administration & Ministerial Advisory Services: Anabelle Alis
    • Team Leader, Facilities: Kelly Coburn
  • People & Wellbeing (Chief People Officer: Fiona Foster)
  • Finance, Strategy & Performance (Chief Financial Officer: Glenn McStay)
  • Information & Technology (Chief Information Officer: Tom Byrne)
Page top